Along with iOS, iPadOS and other firmware updates, Apple also released a new update for iTunes for Windows.

Figure 1 : iTunes version 12.12.0.6

After seeing this on a headline on social media, I updated my iTunes via Microsoft Store on my computer. When I tried to listen to some music, iTunes could not be opened and I got an error message stating that iTunes has to be reinstalled because some of the required files were missing.

Without realizing that this was a bug, I uninstalled iTunes via Control Panel and reinstalled it via Microsoft Store. The issue was not resolved. Sigh. After researching a resolution on the web, I came across a fix and would like to share it with you.

  1. On your Windows computer, click on Start and type “Language”.
  2. From the app suggestions, click on “Language Settings”.
  3. Under “Windows display language”, select “English (United States)” from the drop-down menu as shown in the figure below.
  4. Close the “Settings” window and open iTunes.
Figure 2 : Language Settings on Windows 10

N.B. The issue would not be fixed with any other English setting such as “English (United Kingdom)”.

Hope this rectifies your error with iTunes not opening. Maybe Apple or Microsoft will release an update for this in the future.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.